Scroll to content

Story Wood School "Inspiring Minds to Universally Succeed" "inspirati omnia impetramus"

EYFS Curriculum

At Story Wood School we believe that learning should be child-centred and based on the needs, experiences and interests of the children in our care. Learning in the Early Years should be fun, stimulating, challenging and varied.


Young children should be given time to be children; free to grow in a safe and structured environment that allows them to develop at their own pace, in an atmosphere that offers security. They should be given the opportunity to take chances and have a go, to investigate, to question and to develop a sense of awe and wonder.


Young children learn most effectively through experience and active involvement. In the Early Years, play is the most important vehicle through which children learn.


We aim to provide a broad and balanced curriculum that allows every child to reach his or her full potential socially, emotionally, physically and intellectually. We believe that each child is an individual with individual needs and that all their achievements should be valued and shared.


We aim to offer an environment that is conducive to learning, filled with colour, sound, texture and which is stimulating and enriching.




Learning for young children should be a rewarding and enjoyable experience in which they can explore, investigate, discover, create, practise, rehearse, repeat, revise and consolidate their developing knowledge, skills and understanding.




Early Years Practitioners plan from the EYFS statutory framework, revised for use from September 2021. The curriculum lays out the standards for Learning, Development and Care for children from birth to five. As stated in the new Framework Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right.’ At Story Wood, we believe that it is our responsibility to give our children the best possible start in education.


The Early Years Foundation Stage sets the standards that early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.


Areas of Learning

The curriculum focuses on 7 Areas of Learning within the Foundation Stage. Each of these have Early Learning Goals to be achieved by the end of the Reception year.


These consist of 3 Prime Areas, which underpin the whole of the EYFS curriculum:


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


The other four Areas of Learning are known as the Specific Areas:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Play underpins the delivery of the Early Years Foundation Stage. The children are encouraged to take part in a wide range of activities which are either child initiated or adult led.

Guiding Principles

We adhere to the Statutory Framework of the EYFS and the four guiding principles that shape practice within Early Years settings: 


  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.
  • The importance of learning and development. Children develop and learn at different rates.