Scroll to content

Story Wood School "Inspiring Minds to Universally Succeed" "inspirati omnia impetramus"

Spellings (including lists)

Spelling Shed is a spelling scheme which is divided into six stages, each stage corresponds to the respective school year. Within each stage, there are weekly objectives and spelling lists that give a steady progression through the English curriculum but also offers opportunities for our children to extend their vocabulary.


For each week's spellings we provide a list that the children can take home. Spelling Shed has been developed to cover all spelling targets within the National Curriculum but additionally it offers further support for learning high frequency words for each key stage.


The Spelling Shed helps children to practise spelling via simple games. The game gives four different degrees of support in the form of difficulty modes: Easy, Medium, Hard and Extreme. Higher levels allow a higher score to be achieved but children can practise as much as they like on lower levels before trying to gain high scores. It also creates a supportive environment for our learners to practise and master their spellings at their own pace.


Each week, your child’s teacher will set lists of words that your child/children should practise and will monitor whether they have completed a minimum of 5 hive games as part of their weekly home learning.

Click here to go to the Spelling Shed login page


Year 1 Lists


Year 2 Lists


Year 3 Lists


Year 4 Lists


Year 5 Lists


Year 6 Lists